Scroll down and read more

The task was to write a personal statement that encompassed in a brief space who I am. The opening was really easy. “Hi! I am me, I live here and I do this stuff.” Then I anguished over what parts of me to share and how to put me into words. I gave little thought to the generic opener I had used. It was a cliche statement about what I do and where I come from. After I had finished I perused some other personal statements on the about.me digital platform and quickly noted that most opened with a greeting, where they lived, and what they did. After reading a handful of profiles, that first opening statement began to blur and have little meaning to me. I realised also that my own opener was just as generic, forgettable and lacklustre.

Untitled.jpg
Image by Peter Dolan, 5 November 2018

Have you stood before a mirror and brushed your hair the opposite way to look at how others would see you (our reflections are opposite to what other people see)? Before you entered a venue or ventured forth to meet someone for the first time or took that thousandth selfie did you check out the various parts of you to make sure everything was as it should be? In the age of technology what have you curated as the first impression you give in your digital space?

Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” (Geisel T 1959).

Geisel, the author popularly known as Dr Seuss, highlights the uniqueness of each and every one of us. Shouldn’t our digital spaces then show that uniqueness and right from the opening statement we should be curating the parts that make you ‘youer’?

All About Careers (2017) present the challenge to be “original and (refer) to personal experiences as a way to draw attention”. They also point to an over use of quotes as openers for personal statements and identify it as a not-to-do. I agree; the use of someone else’s words to create a first impression about oneself doesn’t seem logical (did you just hear that in Spock’s voice too?).

Patel (2018) dot-points ways to invite people to scroll-down and consume more of your writing. For opening statements he advises;

  1. A short first sentence,
  2. To say something unusual, and
  3. Not to repeat the title (Patel 2018).

Patel (2018) also recognises the value of opening with a story but cautions at making it too long winded.

Do you have an about.me page or a profile statement sitting in digital space? Hopefully you are now thinking “I should go check mine out and rewrite that opening statement”. Unless of course you have already demonstrated that creative streak and enticed us with an original and inviting start to what makes you ‘youer’. One of my tasks this week is to take up this challenge and rewrite mine.

Edit: Some feedback has highlighted that there are generic profile starters well suited to their purpose. The target audience, purpose and context of the personal statement as well as your own writing style and intent should influence how you write. As always, the intent of my blogs are only to generate reflection and conversation within a wider understanding of topics.

 

Peter

 


References

All About Careers 2017, Personal Statement Opening Sentence, retrieved 5 November 2018, <https://www.allaboutcareers.com/careers-advice/personal-statements/personal-statement-opening-sentence>

Geisel, T 1959, Happy Birthday To You, Random House USA Inc, New York.

Patel, N 2018, How To Write A Great Introduction, retrieved 5 November 2018, <https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/write-stronger-introductions>

 

Leave a comment